Filing an Auto Insurance Claim in Texas
While filing a lawsuit is an option, most car accident cases are resolved through insurance claims. At-fault drivers may be financially liable for the victim’s damages, which means victims may be able to seek compensation from the at-fault driver’s insurance policy.
If you or someone you love suffered an injury or property damage, there are several options to choose from to recover compensation:
- The first option is to file a claim with your own car insurance company if you think the losses will be covered under your policy. If so, your insurer will likely pursue a claim against the at-fault party.
- The second option is to seek compensation from the at-fault party’s insurance company by filing a third-party claim.
- The third option is to file a personal injury lawsuit in court against the at-fault party. You may be able to obtain compensation for your medical bills, property damage, pain and suffering, and other related losses.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in San Antonio, Texas
Texas requires all drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage in case they cause an accident:
- $30,000 for one person’s bodily injury
- $60,000 for injuries to two or more people
- $25,000 for property damage
In the event that a settlement through the insurance company is not possible, your auto accident lawyer may suggest that you pursue a lawsuit. Our attorneys are thoroughly experienced in personal injury trial law and will be able to guide you toward the solution that best fits your needs.
Have questions? We have answers. Ph: 210-320-1529
Steps to Take After Being Involved in a Car Crash
While your attorney can manage the legal process on your behalf, it is important to note there are some steps you can take to help protect your health and your claim for compensation.
Move to Safety
Whenever possible, move your car out of the flow of traffic to a safe place. Make sure to turn on your hazard lights and only get out of the car if it is safe to do so.
The police and other first responders who come to the scene can assess injuries, provide treatment, and help secure the area.
In Texas, those involved in an accident must report it to the authorities if it caused:
- Injury or death of any person, or
- Vehicle damage that prevents the safe operation of the vehicle
These types of accidents must be reported to the appropriate authority:
- Local police if the crash happened in a municipality
- Local police or sheriff’s office if the crash happened within 100 feet of the limits of a municipality
- Sheriff’s office or nearest office of the department
When the police arrive, they can begin an investigation and complete an accident report. This serves as an official record of the crash and helps your attorney to build a case.
Under state law, police officers must send a written report of the crash to the Texas Department of Transportation within 10 days of the crash.
If the police did not come to the scene, you can file a Driver’s Crash Report (CR-2). You will need the following information to complete a report:
- Crash location
- Names, addresses, and birthdates for everyone involved
- Driver’s license information
- License plate numbers
- Summary of the crash
- Weather and road conditions when the crash happened
Check for Injuries
Assess your injuries and the injuries anyone else suffered. You may be able to render first aid until help arrives.
Collect Evidence at the Scene
Whenever possible, and when it is safe to do so, gather evidence. This includes pictures of the scene and your injuries – pictures can be powerful evidence to help prove liability. Information about those involved is also important, including license plate numbers and insurance information. Writing down what you remember about the crash can also be helpful, as you may forget important details rather quickly.
If people nearby witnessed the crash, ask them about what they saw. Make sure to ask for their contact information for future reference.
Seek Medical Help Right Away
This is vital even if you do not think your injuries are very serious. Waiting could make your injuries worse and hurt your chances of recovering full compensation for your damages.
Watch What You Say
This not only applies to insurance companies but social media posts. Saying too much could hurt your chances of recovering compensation. Insurance companies are looking to use anything you say against you. It is often best to refer the insurance company to your lawyer, as he or she deals with insurers all the time.
Seek Legal Help
You do not have to sign anything or agree to anything before talking to a lawyer. Our San Antonio car accident lawyers understand how insurers think and how to protect a claim.
Common Types of Crash Claims
Our San Antonio car accident lawyers are prepared to help victims of many car crashes. Some of the most common crashes that result in legal claims include:
- Head-on crashes
- T-bone crashes
- Impaired driving crashes
- Rear-end accidents
- Distracted driving accidents
If you were injured and you think the crash was caused by another driver, we are ready to discuss it. The consultation is free, so there is no risk to you.